Kyungpook National University Votes for its Next President

Report Post
Professor Hong Won-hwa (Left), Professor Kwon Oh-gul ( right)

After two rounds of voting, Hong Won-hwa and Kwon Oh-gul have emerged as the final candidates for the 19th President of Kyungpook National University.

Professor Hong Won-hwa from the Architecture Department and Professor Kwon Oh-gul from the Law Department have been selected as the top two candidates for the 19th president of Kyungpook National University.  On July 15, during the second round of voting, Professor Hong Won-hwa secured 54.76% of the votes and Professor Kwon Oh-gul received 34.39% of the votes, making them the primary and secondary candidates, respectively.

Nine candidates registered for the election, and it is the first online voting for president in the history of Kyungpook National University, out of consideration for the ongoing COVID19 reality and summer vacation.  The campaign focused on non-face-to-face online public debates and joint speeches.  1,190 teachers (93%), 645 employees (95%), and 27,469 students (49%) registered votes in the first round, and in the second round, the turnout reached 91% of teachers, 95% of employees and 44% of students.

The second round of voting was held on July 15, as no candidate exceeded the necessary majority threshold during the first round.  In the first round, Professor Hong received 32.74% of the votes before going on to obtain 54.76% in the second round, and Professor Kwon racked up 14.88% of the votes in the first round before finishing with 34.39% in the second round.

As a result of these results, Kyungpook National University will recommend Professor Hong as the primary candidate and Professor Kwon as the second candidate for the post.  The official appointment will be made by the President of South Korea and the 19th president of Kyungpook National University will then serve for four years beginning on the date of inauguration.